Skip to content

Music news

6th February, 2006

The Australian Music Prize (in its inaugural year - known as The Amp 2005) has announced the short list of eight albums in the running for the inaugural prize: Ben Lee "Awake Is The New Sleep", The Devastations "Coal", The Drones "Wait Long By The River And The Bodies Of Our Enemies Will Float By", The Go-Betweens "Oceans Apart", The Mess Hall "Notes From The Ceiling", Tex, Don & Charlie "All Is Forgiven", TZU "Smiling At Strangers", Wolfmother "Wolfmother". The winner, who will receive a cash prize of $25,000 in recognition of their music excellence, will be announced March 8 at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Sydney. For more information on the shortlist visit

« Back